Thursday, July 22, 2010

The Hand Shake vs. The Fist Bump

So, I was at the gym last night and I saw my trainer training someone (surprise, surprise). I was sweating my balls off on the stair master as someone came out of the changing room. It must've been a friend or another customer of my trainer because he went to say bye to him as he was leaving. He gave him a good old fashioned hand shake. On the other hand, whenever I salute him, I give him the fist bump.

So what's the deal? Some get a fist bump and some get a hand shake? I guess that's the way it works because I am the same way. Some of my friends are shakers while some others are bumpers. I don't think it has anything to do with how close you are with someone, but a hand shake does feel more formal. Ex: You'd never fist bump at an interview (however, that would be fucking awesome). I have some of my very close friends that I still shake hands with and others, i'll just do the bump with. Sometimes, when i'll meet someone for the first time, i'll give em a fist bump and they're cool with that. On occassion, they will even wind up for it. So is it a question of formality, preference, age, gender, race? What is it???

So here's my opinion: I prefer the fist bump. It's cool, it's quick, it's efficient and it looks bad-ass. The hand shake looks more formal and should be used in certain situations. Another advantage of the bump is that you don't need to touch anyone's sweaty, dry, scaly, dirty-just-touched-my-penis hands. Just tap dem knuckles and you're off!

Now, that being said, what do you prefer? Are you a bumper or a shaker? TELL ME NOW!


3 comments:

  1. Its weird, with my cousin who is in his late 30's he all of a sudden started fist bumping (before we would just hit each other in a "hello" way lol)

    On the other hand, when I met Atreyu's drummer I was ready to give him a fist bump (figuring hey, this guy is a rock star, he'll fist bump for sure) but his hand was flat, and ready to shake instead.

    Bope.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Weird how that works. FIst bumping JD would've been bad fucking ass!!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ya but an "emotional handshake" is just as good

    ReplyDelete