Friday, September 17, 2010

Factual Fridays - Part 2

It's Friday and you know what that means! It's Factual Friday time. Here is this week's compilation of random facts.
No. 5, 1948 sold for 140$ million

  • Termite mounds can reach a height of up to 30 feet.
  • The largest pumpkin ever was grown by Joe Jutras in Topsfield, Massachusetts. It weighed in at 1689 pounds.
  • Movie theaters in South America sell roasted ants as snacks instead of popcorn.
  • The most expensive painting ever sold was Jackson Pollock's No. 5, 1948. It was sold for 140$ million to David Geffen, founder of Geffen Records. (pictured)
  • The first stage of decomposition of a human body is called autolysis. At this stage, the cells break down the body in a substance the cells can eat. This creates a type of liquid that gets under the skin and causes it to peel off. Yummy!

So there it is. More random facts. By the way, if I was David Geffen, I would've saved the 140$ million and bought a shit load of roasted ants!

Have a great weekend peeps!

Monday, September 13, 2010

Remembering the Dawson College Shooting - 4 Years Later

4 years ago today, something tragic happened in our city. A deranged man by the name of Kimveer Gill entered Dawson College in Montreal, Quebec and began shooting randomly at people. The tragedy lasted for 20 minutes, between the times of 12:42 p.m. and 1:02 p.m. The perpetrator caused one victim, 18 year old Anastasia De Sousa. If you ask me, this is one victim too many. There were countless others who were injured either physically and/or mentally. Today, we remember them.

I was working my shift at the restaurant when I heard this news over the radio. My first reaction was "This isn't really happening here". After it was confirmed, I began to feel angry. Angry and helpless. I was angry because Dawson was my home for 4 years of my life. I made friends, took classes, bonded with teachers, ate at the caf, skipped class, and overall had fun for 4 years of my life! This was my home and no one was going to ruin it. However, it was too late. There was nothing I could do. It was the first time that a tragedy like this bothered me so much. I knew 3 people in the school that were there at that time. One of them being my cousin. You can ask any of the students who were in the school at that time and I can guarantee those 20 minutes felt like an eternity.

Please take 1 minute today to remember Anastasia De Sousa and all the other students who were injured psychologically or physically that day. Remember that this can happen anywhere at any time.

Time does heal but you can rest assured that we will never forget...

Friday, September 10, 2010

Factual Fridays - Part 1

So, I'd like to start a new feature on this blog called Factual Fridays. Basically, I will be doing some research on random interesting facts and post them here. I will post 5 new facts every Friday! No more wasting time, here is this week's list:

  • The tallest skyscraper in the world is Dubai's Burj Khalifa. It was built in 2009. It measures 2,717 feet, 2300 feet taller than the tallest of the World Trade Centre buildings.
  • A baby llama is called a cria.
  • The world's heaviest person was Jon Brower Minnoch. Hailing from the United States of America, he weighed in at approximately 1,400 pounds (635 kg). He died at the age of 42.
  • According to Facebook's Factsheet, it currently has 500 Million active users which it categorizes as 'users who  have returned to the site in the last 30 days'.
  • More than 60% of known serial killers wet their beds past the age of 12.

So there we have it. The first ever Factual Fridays. Enjoy the weekend everybody. Before we know it, it will be over...

Friday, September 3, 2010

Call of Duty: Black Ops - The Betting Game!

So September 1st marked the day that all sorts of info about the multiplayer version of the new installment of the Call of Duty series was released. Treyarch seems to really be on the ball here as they are introducing interesting new features, maps, customization and game modes. One new game mode that i'd like to talk about is the new Wager Mode. You must first understand a little bit about how the "money" system in the game works now. This is a whole new aspect to the series. The money comes in the form of CP or Call of Duty Points. These points will allow you to purchase everything in multiplayer. Guns, customizing your weapons, killstreaks, etc... So let's say you complete a match and get 200 CP. You then tell yourself, I want 800! What you can do is go into the Wager Mode games and bet that you are better than some players. What do you bet exactly? Well, you guessed it, CP! That's right, thank you Treyarch for incorporating an even more addicting aspect to an already addictive game. Here is the video. I'll let it do the explaining!





So, I don't know about you but I find this wicked! I can't wait to try out these new modes. They look fun to play and pretty intense. Here is a summary of what we know so far about each mode:

  • One in the Chamber: Each player is given a pistol with one bullet and a knife. Killing another player will reward you with another bullet. Miss your shot and you must rely on you knife. Each player has 3 lives.
  • Sharpshooter: All players are given the same random weapon. That weapon will change every 45 seconds.
  • Sticks and Stones: Each player will be given a crossbow, ballistic knife and a tomahawk. Hit someone with a tomahawk and you bankrupt that player.
  • Gun Game: Every player starts with the same weapon. Each kill will get you the next weapon or tier. Cycle through the weapons to win the game. Getting knifed will set you back a tier. (If you are familiar with Counter-Strike, this was a very popular mode in that game)

So there you have it. Interesting new mode which I think will be lots of fun and have lots of fans. Only a few more weeks until the big release of Call of Duty: Black Ops! We all have to be a little more patient!

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Stupid fucking whore

I don't know if you have all seen the video of this stupid cunt but if you haven't, here it is.

***WARNING*** Contains scenes of animal cruelty. Watch at your own risk.

 



I don't understand how anyone can do this to these poor animals. They're so innocent, and have no way of defending themselves. This video is wrong on so many levels. Not only is she drowning them, but it looks like she's having fun doing it. Secondly, whoever is filming her doesn't seem to have a problem with what she's doing. This cunt needs to be stopped. She is obviously not well in her mind. Her mind is sickened. Hey, bitch, if you ever read this by any chance, I hope someone sticks toothpicks in your fucking eyes and laughs about it. Fuck you, fuck you and fuck you again you bitch mother fucker.

I hope social media comes through and finds this bitch through Facebook, MySpace or some other website. Apparently there are many groups dedicated to finding out who she is. Kudos to the people who created these groups and to the countless people who want to find her.

Animal cruelty is a problem and needs to be stopped. People seem to think that because we are smarter than they are and bigger than they are that they don't matter. I'm now talking about all kinds of animal cruelty. Shark fining, cock fighting, pit bull fights, etc... We seem to forget that we are animals too. Just stop this shit damnit...

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Constantly carrying your balls in your hands...

You must think you're really special huh? Your dick or pussy must be absolutely germ free right? Who the fuck do you think you are? Does it give you the right to go to the bathroom and not wash your hands? That's disgusting.

Avoid dick hands or puss paws. It takes 30 secs.
So yesterday I was in the bathroom at work and I was taking a dump. Some guy walks in and begins taking a leak. I see his shadow on the wall, he is definitely a shaker. So, once he's done he zips up his pants. All good until now. As you can imagine, i'm relying heavily on my sense of hearing since i'm basically blind. The only thing I can see is the pale grey bathroom stall door in front of me. So, i'm waiting for the noise of water through the fawcet. However, that sound never came. What did I hear next? The sound of the creeking door opening! What the fuck dude? This is a place of work so i'm sure he was going to shake some hands later in the day. Now, all the people he shares the shake with will have dick hands because of him (Ahh the wonders of fist bumping but that's a topic already covered). Hey, guy, it would've taken you 30 seconds to wash your sweaty ball juice off of your hands. Obviously, the doors in most bathrooms are pull-to-open doors from the INSIDE which I cannot understand for the life of me. Think of that for a while. The dick hand guy had to grab the handle to open it. Now, his sweaty ball juice is all over the handle. How many other people grab that door in the day? Probably a hundred or more. How many of that hundred didn't wash their hands themselves? Let's say 15%. That's one dicked up door handle! But in all seriousness, WHAT THE FUCK! Just wash your goddamn hands. I won't even begin to speak of the people who take a shit and don't wash their hands...

So next time you go to your favorite Chinese restaurant, think twice before grabbing a loose mint in the bowl...

Friday, August 27, 2010

Xbox 360 vs. PlayStation 3: The Hardware Throwdown - Gear Feature at IGN

Guys, I know I've posted once today already but this article was so interesting I couldn't pass it up. I found it while exploring IGN's website. Very factual and unbiased throw down of the 2 leading systems in the gaming industry right now. I am PS3 fanboy so i'm pretty happy with the result. Read and judge for yourself.

Xbox 360 vs. PlayStation 3: The Hardware Throwdown - Gear Feature at IGN

Laziness, Piranha 3D, Etc...

I haven't updated this in weeks. I know, I suck balls. Well, I know it takes about 5 minutes to post something so I won't give the excuse that I was too busy. That's just lame. I'll try to update as much as possible though!

Chomp chomp motherfuckers!
So I went to go see Piranha 3D this week. I gotta admit, when I first saw the preview of this movie I thought, fuck this is gonna be horrible. Then I read some reviews from both critics and ordinary people and they had good things to say. I told myself I wanted to see it. One little piece of advice, do not go into this movie expecting an oscar-worthy piece of art. It's not that, and they know it. This movie doesn't take itself too seriously and neither should you. If you go into it thinking you will see a better-than-average B movie with lots of blood of tits, you'll have a great time. This movie was pure fun! The level of riculousness (is that even a word??) is about the same as Snakes on a Plane. Just look at the piranha on the left, it looks just so ridiculous! But i'm telling you, it's awesome. Plenty of blood, plenty of tits, plenty of laughs! If you enjoy horror movies and just want to have a good time, go see this movie. I'm not sure I would categorize this as a horror movie though. There are no 'scary' moments really. Anyways, go see it and you'll see. The only negative thing I have to say has nothing to do with the movie but about the 3D glasses. Fuck those bitches are annoying. I have to put them over my own glasses and they kind of hurt my eyes. I believe the technology is not perfected yet.

Besides that, nothing much else is going on. I in the process of finishing Uncharted 2: Among Thieves for Playstation 3. It is seriously an awesome game. I caught myself saying 'WOW' many times throughout it. I wish it was a little longer though.

I am also anxiously awaiting the new Call of Duty game. It is coming out Novemeber 9. Some news about the multiplayer will be released on September 1. Can't wait for that. Check out the teaser video for the multiplayer below. That is all for today folks. Check back soon for more.

Friday, July 30, 2010

Pissing in the shower! WHAT?

Today's entry is going to be short and sweet. Today is my vacation day so i'm busy! I just got out of the shower a few minutes ago and I asked myself the question, how many people piss in the shower??  I mean, I find it's kind of normal and personally I do it if I need to. Yea, that's right I said it! Don't pretend like you don't, I wanna hear ya! I wanna know if i'm weird or if others do it too.

I think they had this as a topic once on a local radio station and I was surprised at how many people were calling in saying they did this too!

Anyways, that's it for me! Told you it would be a short entry. Take care guys and have a great weekend!

Monday, July 26, 2010

A cake in a cup?

Welcome back from the weekend everyone. I'm so tired it's not even funny. What a fantastic weekend though. This will be a topic for another day this week when I get some pics and vids up.

Cupcake Monster Cookie or  Cookie Monster Cupcake?
So, I decided to make a topic about the ever-so-popular cupcake. These bitches just exploded out of nowhere. Ever Tom, Dick and Penelope are claiming to make the best cupcakes in town. Bakeries are advertising them to hell, there are even specialty bakeries that make only cupcakes. TLC now has a show dedicated to cupcakes (Cake Boss for cupcakes). Why? Do they deserve all this attention? Yes.

When this craze first started happening about a year ago I was skeptical. There is nothing special about them. It's some sponge cake with icing right? Today, the same reason I hated them is the reason why I love them. The good ones are super moist, super delicious, super nice to look at. They are like pieces of art. There is nothing complicated about them but yet they are great. Don't get me wrong, I don't travel town looking for the best cupcakes and dream of them, I just enjoy them once in a while (and no I don't watch the TLC show).

Also, I am all for taking advantage of what's popular! There is a craze for them now, it's like a cupcake frenzy! It is a typical example of fad. Lots of attention which will eventually slow down and die out. BUT, since we ware in the middle of the fad, MILK IT FOR ALL IT'S WORTH! If you can make some easy bucks off of this, do it. My girlfriend and I were taking a walk a couple of weeks ago and we passed by a house that a sign up that said something along the lines of ''Delicious cupcakes for sale for all events!'' I told myself that was genius. Like mentioned above, there is nothing complicated about a cupcake. Anyone can make them, but it's all about how pretty you can make them. If you can have a decent product and market it properly, you can make shitload of money during a fad.

So in the end, cupcakes are here for now. How long will they be around no one knows but enjoy them while they are.

If you want some good cupcakes and you are in the Montreal, QC area, here are a few places I found where you can get some:

-> Petits Gateaux
-> Montreal Cupcakes
-> ShiShi Montreal
-> Itsi Bitsi
-> Clever Cupcakes
-> Tasty Cupcakes

Friday, July 23, 2010

It's the weekend, FUCK YEA!

So it’s almost the weekend. I love Fridays but I fucking hate Mondays. It feels like nothing can wrong on Friday afternoons especially when the weekend is suppose to be jam packed with cool shit to do. Well, that’s my case this weekend. Tonight, I’m going to have some drinks on a terrace with some friends and girlfriend. Tomorrow, I’m working for one of my old employers at the Heavy MTL fest going down this weekend. What’s awesome about that is that A) I’m getting paid, B) I’m getting free food, and C) The pass to get onto the premises will be valid for both days of the concert! As some of you may know, my favourite band, Korn, is playing at the festival on Sunday and I ain’t paying a penny to see them! Later tomorrow night, my friend is having a barbecue so I’m gonna eat me some dogs and chug a few beers. So far so good huh? Then, Sunday morning, my friends and I are meeting up at the Heavy MTL site. Doors open at 1:00, we’ll probably be there around 10 to make sure we get our passes to meet Korn later in the day. Anyways, so that’s my weekend. Pretty packed and I can’t wait for it. Somehow I’m always more tired when I come back to work Monday mornings than when I leave on Friday afternoons.

Next week at work shouldn’t be too bad either. Most of the office will be gone away on vacation and we will be starting the new campaign very slowly (I work for the Yellow Pages).

The highlight of my weekend will definitely be the concert on Sunday. Meeting Korn will be unreal. I know I sound like a little girl that will meet NSYNC for the first time but I don’t give a fuck lol! I’ve been waiting years for this. I’ve seen them in concert twice already but never at an outside venue. I’ve never met them before either. I won’t even know what to say to them. I’m very conscious of the fact that people always say ''they are just regular people like you and I'' and all that crap, but, when you’ve looked up to, listened to and spoken about a band or a person for so many years (in my case about 14 years) you can’t just treat them like that. I know they are just regular people but it’s still impressive when you actually see them in your face LIVE. You know that for those 15 seconds they are listening to you and they acknowledge your existence. There is nothing like it. Anyways, I will try to post up some videos and pictures of the concert on Monday or Tuesday. Hope it will kick ass.

What are your plans for the weekend. I wanna know! Give me some ideas for weekends to come.

Oh, by the way, did I mention that it's the weekend? Just thought i'd remind you.

Q: Why did the chicken cross the road? A: To get to the other side to ENJOY THE FUCKING WEEKEND!

Thursday, July 22, 2010

The Hand Shake vs. The Fist Bump

So, I was at the gym last night and I saw my trainer training someone (surprise, surprise). I was sweating my balls off on the stair master as someone came out of the changing room. It must've been a friend or another customer of my trainer because he went to say bye to him as he was leaving. He gave him a good old fashioned hand shake. On the other hand, whenever I salute him, I give him the fist bump.

So what's the deal? Some get a fist bump and some get a hand shake? I guess that's the way it works because I am the same way. Some of my friends are shakers while some others are bumpers. I don't think it has anything to do with how close you are with someone, but a hand shake does feel more formal. Ex: You'd never fist bump at an interview (however, that would be fucking awesome). I have some of my very close friends that I still shake hands with and others, i'll just do the bump with. Sometimes, when i'll meet someone for the first time, i'll give em a fist bump and they're cool with that. On occassion, they will even wind up for it. So is it a question of formality, preference, age, gender, race? What is it???

So here's my opinion: I prefer the fist bump. It's cool, it's quick, it's efficient and it looks bad-ass. The hand shake looks more formal and should be used in certain situations. Another advantage of the bump is that you don't need to touch anyone's sweaty, dry, scaly, dirty-just-touched-my-penis hands. Just tap dem knuckles and you're off!

Now, that being said, what do you prefer? Are you a bumper or a shaker? TELL ME NOW!


Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Oildale (Leave Me Alone) HD Video, boring day so far...

So, my day is pretty boring so far. At work, not much to do (which is not typical at all) so i'm posting up in this bitch. I can't seem to beat my score of 2330 in Blackberry Word Mole.

When I have nothing to do my mind starts wondering into places I don't really want to be so usually when I have nothing to do I start getting depressed and in a bad mood... Anyways, here is a little video to help you pass the time. It's the video for Korn's Oildale (Leave Me Alone). Enjoy. Comment if you like please!

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Review - Korn III: Remember Who You Are


It brings me great pleasure that my first actual constructive entry will be a review on Korn's new album, Remember Who You Are.


So it's been 6 days since the album has been out and i've been listening non-stop for the last 6 days. First off, i'd like to mention that KoRn is my all-time favorite band. I eat and breath KoRn when it comes to music so my review will probably be a little biased. As one of my friends said 'Joanthan Davis can fart for 60 minutes and you'd say it was the best thing you've ever heard.' He's right...

The album is seriously great. Besides my bias, it's been getting great reviews a little bit everywhere. Everyone I know that's listened, enjoys it. People were expecting a Korn or Life Is Peachy sound, but that it's not. Is that a bad thing? No. Don't get me wrong, those albums are classic and awesome, but the new album just instead like those. The way that it is similar though, is that it's raw, no-bullshit, in your face music. No electronics, no weird instruments, nothing like that. Guitars, drums, bass and sick-ass vocals. The music is heavy and Jon's vocals are as good as they were 16 years ago. Ray, the new drummer, is just freakin' awesome. I have accepted him as one of the guys and it seems like he fits like a glove. What I realized also, is that the album still has a creepy feel to it. Not as creepy and eery as Issues, but not too far off. The lyrical themes I get from the album is: think of the future, forget the past, it can't be changed but never ever forget where you came from and the person that you are deep down. That does not change. It brings to mind that quote that says 'The more things change, the more they stay the same'.

I'll try to write 1 sentence on each of the songs. Uber-Time is an intro to the album, nothing too crazy here. Oildale is the first single and is a great song with a nice breakdown. Pop a Pill is the funkiest sounding track on the album. Fear Is A Place To Live is a catchy tune with a straight forward message. Move On is an old-school sounding song with a catchy chorus and is personally one of my favs. Lead The Parade is the heaviest songs on the album with sick vocals. Let The Guilt Go is the second single off the album and it's catchy, heavy and everyone can relate to it. The Past is a good song with a cool beat. Never Around is a slower yet heavy song with a good beat. Are You Ready To Live is a heavy song with repetitive lyrics. Holding All These Lies is a heavy, emotional song and is one of the best on the album. Trapped Underneath The Stairs and People Pleaser are the 2 bonus tracks on the album, both of which should be part of the regular album for how good they are.

Great album all around, but don't take my word for it. Give it a listen and tell me what you think. Also, I suggest buying the Limited Edition version which includes the 2 bonus tracks plus a live version of Blind. It also comes with a DVD which I haven't had a chance to watch yet.

One thing that my friend made me realize is that Jonathan has given up the gibberish (i.e. Twist). There is none on this album, however, it is doesn't cripple it in any way.

By the way, for those who care, I'm going to see KoRn on Sunday at the Heavy MTL concert. They are playing with Five Finger Death Punch, Rob Zombie, Atreyu and many others. Should be sick. I will let give you a review and maybe post a few pics and a video if I get the chance to take any.

Monday, July 19, 2010

Hello...

So this is my first posting on this blog thing. Not sure where i'll go with this, but i'll probably just journalize my mostly boring, sometimes interesting life. Stay tuned...